All about the GP Challenge 2020

Two men, two legs, and one extraordinary challenge. Lars Kyprian and Rüdiger Böhm are sailing a catamaran together from Gibraltar to Palermo. That’s a total distance of 2,020 nautical miles. What makes this challenge truly extraordinary is that Rüdiger lost both of his legs in an accident. You’ll find all the background information and the latest updates on the GP Challenge 2020 here.

GP Challenge 2020 ends early

With 2,070 kilometers covered across three countries in 29 days of sailing, the extraordinary goal was almost in sight, but the GP Challenge 2020 was brought to an abrupt and surprising end on Thursday, September 24, 2020, the 29th day.

Sadly, our intrepid sailors and their entire crew fell foul of the COVID-19 situation. Having already crossed into Italian waters, the latest pandemic rules meant that they weren’t allowed to set foot on the mainland to set up their next camp for the night. Travelers from France had been banned from entering Italy not long before they arrived. They had no choice but to sail back to France that same evening – and as if that wasn’t enough, they had to do it in a storm. What an achievement!

We regret that Lars and Rüdiger weren’t able to reach their original destination in Palermo, but we’re incredibly proud of what they’ve achieved over the past month. Despite numerous setbacks along the way, we’ve seen how they never lost their sense of humor or their passion for the project. They covered an unbelievable distance of 123 km on their best day and spent up to ten hours at a time on their little sport catamaran with a surface of just two meters by two meters. The two men and their support crew weathered storms, thunder and lightning, rain, choppy seas, days with no wind, damage to the boat, and much more besides for almost a month and never lost sight of their goal. They always believed: “We can do this!” It’s exactly this kind of self-belief that allows a person to grow and achieve things they never thought possible.

We’re looking forward to the sailors’ return, an exclusive report on the whole Challenge, a film about this incredible journey, and whatever comes next. Lars and Rüdiger couldn’t have provided a better demonstration of what can be achieved with courage and determination, and in the process they’ve inspired many other people to push their own limits. With this in mind, we’d like to wish them a safe journey home and a good recovery.

Know You Can.

Diary entries on the GP Challenge 2020

It all began on August 28, 2020: Lars Kyprian and Rüdiger Böhm began their spectacular sailing adventure that was to take them from Gibraltar to Palermo. They have kept us updated with their daily diary entries – until coronavirus prematurely ended the GP Challenge 2020 just before their destination.

Lars Kyprian's and Rüdiger Böhm's entire team would like to thank you for your support! 

© Michele Di Fede

Update: Day 28 - Wednesday, September 23, 2020

Day 28 of the challenge and after yesterday's disappointment, we had a fantastic day on the water today! We only had to be towed for a short distance this morning, then we had super wind conditions after that. As we had already reached our destination of St. Tropez by the afternoon, we decided to press on directly as far as Cannes. That means that we covered almost 130 km today. We're delighted and can't wait to see if we'll reach the Italian border tomorrow. Stay tuned. 

© Michele Di Fede

Update: Day 27 - Tuesday, September 22, 2020

What an up and down day! There were several storms gathering shortly after we left the port of Le Brusc this morning, and we were suddenly surrounded by lightning and strong winds. We were quickly able to take refuge around the next headland before progressing only another ten nautical miles to the next port. The storm continued to rage, and the rain was so heavy that it flooded the streets of Les Sablettes. Have a look at this! We're finishing for the day and as an exception are drying our things out in a hotel because of the weather.

© Michele Di Fede

Update: Day 26 - Monday, September 21, 2020

Having replaced our catamaran's centerboard yesterday, we had a much better day today. The wind was blowing in the right direction and we made excellent progress. Long may it continue! Tomorrow we're heading further north and will hopefully soon reach the Italian border.

© Michele Di Fede

Update: Day 25 - Sunday, September 20, 2020

We were finally able to hoist our sails again and put to sea - but only to collide with a big fish or similar, breaking one of our centerboards. Luckily we were well prepared and had enough spare parts to quickly make our catamaran seaworthy again. We should be able to set off again tomorrow towards Toulon.

© Michele Di Fede

Update: Day 24 - Saturday, September 19, 2020

Unfortunately the enforced break in Sète is continuing today, the wind is too strong, and waves too irregular. Here is our view this morning on the beach. At least it's a good time to do some washing. 

© Michele Di Fede

Update: Day 23 - Friday, September 18, 2020

We hit our camp in Sète yesterday evening. However, the wind gradually picked up and was too dangerous for sailing. As we would only have had a maximum time window of two to three hours before the wind was too strong, we decided to submit to nature and remain on land in Sète. It looks as though the conditions will begin to improve in the next four to five days before the Mistral will be swirling around us for around three days at speeds of up to Force 9. Unless this forecast changes, the Mistral will force us to take a land break and we may even have to secure the catamaran on land.

© Michele Di Fede

Update: Day 22 - Thursday, September 17, 2020

What a milestone! Just before completing our daily stage, we crossed the border with France! Crossing the border was very challenging, as it was unbelievably foggy at the start and we were barely able to sail. It was only thanks to a motor boat that we were able to make any progress at all. But the fog dispersed after around three hours, the sun came out, there was enough wind and we were able to cross the French border. 

Update: Day 21 - Wednesday, September 16, 2020

What a milestone! Just before completing our daily stage, we crossed the border with France! Crossing the border was very challenging, as it was unbelievably foggy at the start and we were barely able to sail. It was only thanks to a motor boat that we were able to make any progress at all. But the fog dispersed after around three hours, the sun came out, there was enough wind and we were able to cross the French border. 

© Michele Di Fede

Update: Day 20 - Tuesday, September 15, 2020

Day 20 – today we continued heading for France. We made good progress, were able to sail for the whole day and completed a decent distance. We arrived in Palamós dog-tired, so now it's "Good night!" 

© Michele Di Fede

Update: Day 19 - Monday, September 14, 2020

Yesterday and today were both rather tough at the start. Due to the lack of wind, we first had to be towed to reach a wind window. We then had a pleasant side wind and were rewarded with fantastic views as we sailed parallel to the Barcelona skyline. Just after Barcelona, we reached our target port of El Masnou.

© Michele Di Fede

Update: Day 18 - Sunday, September 13, 2020

Let’s wait and see what the weather has in store for us today. There’s no wind forecast for the morning, but it should pick up as the day goes on. Whatever the wind decides to do, we’ll make the best of it and stay focused on our goal. Anything’s possible if you’ve got the right attitude. Have a great Sunday, everyone!

© Michele Di Fede

Update: Day 17 - Saturday, September 12, 2020

Day 17 on the water, and the forecast for today wasn’t great: zero wind in the morning, a little in the middle of the day. We decided to try our luck and set sail anyway to slog our way round the corner of Barcelona, and it paid off! We finally had a steady wind – not too strong, not too weak, and from the right side as well. We covered a good 100 km and reached our destination for the day: Ametlla de Mar. A few more days like this would be fantastic!

© Michele Di Fede

Update: Day 16 - Friday, September 11, 2020

Sadly, yesterday’s wind forecast wasn’t borne out. There was no wind at all this morning, then a little wind built up, so we sailed as far as we could. The wind let us down again just before our destination for the day, and we had to be towed into port. On top of that, Lars has been suffering from mild sun rash since yesterday. We’re hoping it’ll ease off soon.

Update: Day 15 – Thursday September 10, 2020

Last night was the first really rainy night at our campsite. Even our camera crew, who normally sleep outdoors, had to put up their tents in the dark. It’s not that hot in the mornings anymore, which means that we had to slip into our still-damp neoprene wet suits before starting the next stage. But we won’t let ourselves get dragged down or our moods spoiled by anything like that. Today, if the wind is anything like what was forecast then we should make good progress and be able to put a good number of kilometers behind us. It remains exciting.

© Michele Di Fede

Update: Day 14 – Wednesday, September 9, 2020

We had a lot planned for today because the wind forecast was great. But unfortunately, it didn’t go as planned, as the forecast was way off. We had a light tailwind at the start and made some headway, but shortly afterwards the wind turned so we had to tack against the wind for three to four hours. The bay of Valencia was somewhat better, but then near Valencia a storm front was advancing toward us. We decided to seek refuge in the next harbor. Thankfully, the storm front dispersed and we were able to sail on a few more miles. We just barely made it to our port of destination, Pobla Marina, ahead of another storm. 

© Michele Di Fede

Update: Day 13 – Tuesday, September 8, 2020

What a turbulent day! Today, we had unbelievably difficult wind conditions and had to start over with really gusty winds. The wind then changed slightly, but was still very challenging. At a wind force of two Beaufort (Bft), we were suddenly confronted with sudden gusts with a force of seven Bft. Just before Javea, there was a dark rain front approaching, forcing us to seek refuge in a small diver’s bay on the rocky coast. Here, we waited out the weather for about one hour in the pouring rain. With these conditions, we had no other option but to be towed to the harbor of Javea, as the cold had taken hold of us. After we had somewhat warmed up in the harbor and fought our weaker self yet again, we ventured out once more. A few kilometers of heavy swell and we were finally greeted by more pleasant side winds so that we could sail full speed to Oliva. 

© Michele Di Fede

Update: Day 12 – Monday, September 7, 2020

Unfortunately today was really wind-still, which was why we felt it necessary to have our boat crew tow us back before the strong winds picked up. We managed to make it back to the harbor of Altea shortly before the first strong gusts of wind came and were warmly greeted there by the regatta club. Overall, we’ve encountered incredibly nice staff at every harbor thus far and have received a lot of encouragement for our endeavor.

© Michele Di Fede

Update: Day 11 - Sunday, 06.09.2020

The wind was a no-show for a good part of the morning, so Day 11 of the Challenge started relatively late, with the crew setting sail at around 10 a.m. Despite a persistent headwind, we made good progress and only had to tack three times. The wind finally turned in the bay of Alicante, bringing us good luck as it did so: we managed to get a good distance behind us without too much tacking. What this also meant, however, was a good seven hours without giving our backsides a rest. We set up camp for the night just after Alicante, and the team's spirits are still good: Everybody has found their notch, everybody knows what's to be done, and we still manage to have fun and enjoy the moment despite the tough days, as can be seen again from today's video updates on Instagram

© Michele Di Fede

Update: Day 10 - Saturday, 05.09.2020

The morning got off to a full-on start for the crew, as we were forced to negotiate our way round a challenging spot at Cartagena, while battling a strong headwind and a powerful swell. As soon as we had this stretch behind us, however, we powered through 25 km, ending the day with our best distance travelled so far. All in all, a very successful day and one with which we can be very satisfied. 

© Michele Di Fede

Update: Day 9 - Friday, 04.09.2020

On Day 9, we were forced to take a welcome day off when the wind we were sailing into was simply too strong. While this was a pity, it was also beneficial: we had time today to "lick our wounds" and to just rest for once. With today's conditions, we could have completed 30 km at most – the conditions would simply have been too dangerous. Our hope now is that we get tomorrow behind us so that we can finally sail north and – with a bit of luck – shake off this headwind.

© Michele Di Fede

Update: Day 8 - Thursday, 03.09.2020

Despite a persistent headwind, overall our GP Challenge 2020 team made good progress today. Coming into the last stages of the day's leg, however, the wind got so strong that we had to head for port earlier than intended.

© Michele Di Fede

Update: Day 7 - Wednesday, 02.09.2020

On day 7 of the challenge, the wind and weather were somewhat more conciliatory. Despite another headwind, our crew made good progress and were able to reach their destination for the day.  They were at least rewarded with a view of the wonderful rocky and steep coast on today's trip. As always, the land crew is looking after our sailing crew admirably, and there is still an excellent and motivational mood throughout the whole team. Under the motto Know You Can, today Rüdiger recorded that "We're fighting on!" And everyone at AXA is keeping their fingers crossed that they do just that. 

© Michele Di Fede

Update: Day 6 - Tuesday, 01.09.2020

The wind is not very well disposed towards our team at the moment. After a quick and promising start directly from the beach at the overnight camp, the wind disappeared again and the catamaran barely made any progress today. In the middle of Almería Bay, the wind died down completely and a long wait was in store. Just before dusk, they both had to be towed by the dinghy and brought onto land to prevent a dangerous night journey. We're all hoping for more wind tomorrow, as soon as it's in a north-easterly direction.

© Michele Di Fede

Update: Day 5 - Monday, 31.08.2020

Our crew successfully set sail from Calahonda at the beginning of the new week, but during the morning, there was barely any wind for around 3 hours. The wind increased in the afternoon, reaching storm force which meant that Lars and Rüdi had to give up on the last 4 km of the daily leg and make an "emergency landing" directly on the beach. By doing so, the catamaran could at least be rolled straight to the campsite where the land crew plied our heroes with kilos of fresh prawns and potato salad.

© Michele Di Fede

Update: Day 4 - Sunday, 30.8.2020

On the fourth day, Rüdiger Böhm and Lars Kyprian had to sail against the wind for almost the whole distance. They covered around 70 km using the trapeze.  After more than 100 km they reached their camp in Calahonda today. 

© Michele Di Fede

Update: Day 3 - Saturday, 29.8.

What a day! Today, our adventurers well and truly flew across the bay of Torre Del Mar. Despite warnings of strong winds, they crossed the bay in just 2 hours 50 minutes. This evening, there was finally time for a refreshing dip in the pool. 

© Michele Di Fede

Update: Day 2 - Friday, 28.8.2020

On the second day too, our crew again had to deal with extreme changes in the wind. With gusts reaching 7 on the Beaufort scale, they faced waves up to 3 meters high in their small sports catamaran! Unfortunately the photographer's mobile phone didn't survive, and the two cameramen got so seasick they ended up feeding the fish.
And then suddenly it was totally calm again for two hours. Exhausted and worn out, they again didn't make camp until late in the evening. 

© Michele Di Fede

Update: Day 1 - Thursday, 27.8.2020

Lars Kyprian and Rüdiger Böhm, our two sailors, got off to a great start on the first day of the GP Challenge 2020, though they also faced some major problems along the way. No sooner had they set off than the mainsheet block (used to operate the main sail) ripped in extremely high winds measuring 6-7 on the Beaufort scale (up to 61 km/h) and had to be patched up.
The wind then gradually dropped until it was completely calm in the afternoon. Not until late in the evening at around 10 o'clock could the crew pitch their tents just before Estepona.

© Michele Di Fede

Where will they be taking their catamaran?

The route from Gibraltar to Palermo is 2,020 nautical miles long.

Behind the scenes

Find out how Lars Kyprian and Rüdiger Böhm ended up creating the GP Challenge.

  • Teaser Image
    Official site: GP Challenge 2020 | 2 men – 2 legs

    You can find out even more on the GP Challenge 2020 site set up by Lars Kyprian and Rüdiger Böhm.

    To the official GP Challenge site

How is AXA supporting the GP Challenge 2020?

With the GP Challenge 2020, Lars Kyprian and Rüdiger Böhm are thinking outside the box and aiming to prove that the seemingly impossible can be achieved. AXA embraces these values and is thus supporting this ambitious sailing project as part of its “Know You Can” campaign, which is all about helping people who believe that they can do anything they set their mind to. Self-belief, determination, and staying power are vital to every success. 

AXA & You

Contact Report a claim Broker Job vacancies myAXA Customer reviews Garage portal myAXA Contact & FAQ

AXA worldwide

AXA worldwide

Stay in touch

DE FR IT EN Terms of use Data protection / Cookie Policy © {YEAR} AXA Insurance Ltd.

We use cookies and analysis tools to improve your user experience, to personalize advertising by AXA and our advertising partner companies, and to provide social media functions. Unfortunately you cannot change your cookie settings via our Cookie Preference Center if you use Internet Explorer 11. If you would like to change your settings, please use an up-to-date browser. By using our website with this browser, you consent to the use of cookies. Data protection / Cookie Policy

Alles zur GP Challenge 2020

Zwei Männer, zwei Beine und eine aussergewöhnliche Challenge. Zu zweit segeln Lars Kyprian und Rüdiger Böhm mit einem Katamaran von Gibraltar nach Palermo. 2020 Seemeilen legen die zwei Männer zusammen zurück. Das Aussergewöhnliche an dieser Challenge? Rüdiger hat seit einem Unfall keine Beine mehr. Hier finden Sie alle Informationen rund um die GP Challenge 2020 und sind immer auf dem neusten Stand.

Verfrühtes Ende für die GP Challenge 2020

3 Länder, 29 Tage auf dem Meer, 2070 zurückgelegte Kilometer und ein aussergewöhnliches Ziel, das immer näher rückte. Doch vergangenen Donnerstag, am 24.09.2020, musste die GP Challenge 2020 am 29. Tag überraschend vorzeitig beendet werden.

Leider hat die Situation rund um COVID-19 auch unseren Seglern und der ganzen Crew einen Strich durch die Rechnung gemacht. Nachdem unsere Abenteurer zu Wasser bereits die Grenze zu Italien überquert hatten, machten es ihnen die neuesten Pandemie-Regelungen unmöglich, das italienische Festland zu betreten, um ihr nächstes Nachtlager aufzuschlagen. Erst kurz zuvor wurden Einreisen aus Frankreich nach Italien untersagt.  Notgedrungen mussten sie noch am selben Abend wieder zurück nach Frankreich segeln und das bei Sturm und Gewitter. Was für eine Leistung!

Wir bedauern, dass Lars und Rüdiger nun nicht bis zu ihrem ursprünglichen Ziel in Palermo segeln können, doch wir sind unglaublich stolz auf das, was sie im vergangenen Monat erreicht haben. Trotz vieler Hürden konnten wir mitverfolgen, wie sie nie den Humor oder ihre Leidenschaft für ihre Idee verloren haben. Dabei haben sie an ihrem besten Tag unglaubliche 123 km zurückgelegt und waren bis zu 10 Stunden am Stück auf dem 2x2 Meter kleinen Sportkatamaran unterwegs. Stürme, Gewitter, totale Flauten, hoher Wellengang, Regen, Schäden am Katamaran und vielem mehr haben die beiden und die ganze Crew rund einen Monat lang getrotzt und hatten stets ihr Ziel vor den Augen. Immer mit dem einen Gedanken: «Wir schaffen das!». Denn es ist der Glaube an sich selbst, der einen weiterbringt und Unvorstellbares erreichen lässt.

Wir sind nun gespannt auf die Rückkehr der beiden Segler und freuen uns auf einen Exklusivbericht der ganzen Challenge, den Ausblick auf den Dokumentarfilm dieser unglaublichen Reise und alles, was da noch kommen mag. Was mit Mut und Durchhaltevermögen alles möglich werden kann, haben die beiden definitiv bereits bewiesen und auf ihrem Weg viele Menschen inspiriert, auch ihre eigenen Grenzen zu überwinden. In diesem Sinne wünschen wir eine sichere Heimreise und gute Erholung.

Know You Can.

Tagebucheinträge zur GP Challenge 2020

Am 28. August 2020 ging es los: Lars Kyprian und Rüdiger Böhm starteten ihr spektakuläres Segelabenteuer, das sie von Gibraltar nach Palermo bringen sollte. Mit ihren täglichen Tagebucheinträgen hielten sie uns auf dem Laufenden – bis Corona die GP Challenge 2020 kurz vor dem Ziel dann doch noch vorzeitig beendete.

Das ganze Team rund um Lars Kyprian und Rüdiger Böhm bedankt sich für eure Unterstützung! 

Foto © Michele Di Fede

Update: Tag 28 – Mittwoch, 23.09.2020

Tag 28 der Challenge und nach dem gestrigen Dämpfer hatten wir heute einen fantastischen Tag auf dem Wasser! Nur kurz mussten wir uns heute Morgen in den Wind schleppen lassen, danach hatten wir endlich super Windverhältnisse. Da wir unser eigentliches Ziel St. Tropez bereits am Mittag erreicht hatten, haben wir den Lauf gleich genutzt und sind direkt bis Cannes durchgezogen. Knapp 130 km haben wir heute hinter uns gelassen. Wir sind begeistert und sind gespannt, ob wir es morgen über die italienische Grenze schaffen werden. Stay tuned. 

Fotos © Michele Di Fede

Update: Tag 27 – Dienstag, 22.09.2020

Was für ein Auf und Ab! Heute Vormittag brauten sich kurz nach dem Auslaufen aus dem Hafen in Le Brusc mehrere Gewitter zusammen und plötzlich sahen wir uns von Blitzen und Starkwind umgeben. Wir konnten uns noch schnell ins nächste Kap retten und sind dann nach nur 10 Seemeilen wieder in den nächsten Hafen eingelaufen. Das Gewitter tobte weiter und der Regen war so stark, dass sich das Wasser auf den Strassen von Les Sablettes sammelte. Schaut euch das an! Wir machen für heute Schluss und trocknen unsere Sachen auf Grund des Wetters ausnahmsweise im Hotel.

Fotos © Michele Di Fede

Update: Tag 26 – Montag, 21.09.2020

Nachdem wir das Schwert unseres Katamarans gestern ersetzen konnten, hatten wir heute einen wesentlich besseren Tag. Die Windrichtung stimmte und wir sind sehr gut vorangekommen. So kann es weitergehen! Morgen machen wir uns weiter auf den Weg Richtung Norden, um dann hoffentlich bald die italienische Grenze zu erreichen.

Fotos © Michele Di Fede

Update: Tag 25 – Sonntag, 20.09.2020

Endlich konnten wir wieder unsere Segel setzen und in See stechen. Und das nur, um dann unter Wasser mit einem grossen Fisch oder Ähnlichem zu kollidieren. Dabei brach eines unserer Schwerter. Zum Glück sind wir vorbereitet und haben genügend Ersatzteile dabei, um unseren Katamaran schnell wieder seetauglich zu machen. Morgen sollten wir uns wieder auf den Weg machen können. Dann nehmen wir Kurs auf Toulon.

Fotos © Michele Di Fede

Update: Tag 24 – Samstag, 19.09.2020

Die Zwangspause in Sète hält leider auch heute noch an, der Wind ist zu stark, die Wellen zu unberechenbar. Hier seht ihr unsere Aussicht von heute Morgen am Strand. Bleibt zumindest Zeit für einen anständigen Waschtag. 

Foto © Michele Di Fede

Update: Tag 23 – Freitag, 18.09.2020

Gestern Abend haben wir unser Lager in Sète aufgeschlagen. Der Wind hat heute jedoch ordentlich zugelegt und zum Segeln ist es zu gefährlich. Da wir ein maximales Zeitfenster von nur 2 bis 3 Stunden zur Verfügung hätten, bevor der Wind zu stark würde, haben wir uns entschieden, uns der Natur zu beugen und in Sète an Land zu bleiben. So wie es aussieht, sollten sich die Verhältnisse in den nächsten 4–5 Tagen dann wieder bessern, bevor uns der Mistral mit Windstärken von bis zu 9 Bft. für ca. 3 Tage um die Ohren saust. Sollte sich an dieser Voraussage nichts ändern, wird uns der Mistral wohl abermals zur Landpause zwingen und wir müssen den Katamaran sogar an Land sichern.

Foto © Michele Di Fede

Update: Tag 22 – Donnerstag, 17.09.2020

In Frankreich angekommen, machen wir uns heute weiter auf den Weg entlang des Golfs von Lion Richtung Marseille. Bis Marseille werden wir es noch nicht schaffen, aber wir sind auf gutem Weg und wir bleiben dran! 

Update: Tag 21 – Mittwoch, 16.09.2020

Was für ein Meilenstein! Kurz vor Abschluss unserer Tagesetappe haben wir heute die Grenze zu Frankreich überquert! Der «Grenzübergang» war dabei sehr herausfordernd, da wir anfangs unglaublich viel Nebel hatten und kaum segeln konnten. Nur dank der Begleitung des Motorboots kamen wir überhaupt ein Stück vorwärts. Als sich nach rund 3 Stunden dann aber der Nebel verzog, kam mit der Sonne auch der Wind und so konnten wir dann doch noch die französische Grenze überqueren. 

Foto © Michele Di Fede

Update: Tag 20 – Dienstag, 15.09.2020

Tag 20 – heute ging es weiter Richtung Frankreich. Wir sind gut vorangekommen, konnten den ganzen Tag gut segeln und somit eine anständige Strecke zurücklegen. Hundemüde sind wir nun in Palamós angekommen und sagen: «Gute Nacht!» 

Fotos © Michele Di Fede

Update: Tag 19 – Montag, 14.09.2020

Der gestrige und der heutige Tag waren beide anfangs eher schwierig. Aufgrund des fehlenden Windes mussten wir uns zunächst schleppen lassen, um in ein Windfenster zu gelangen. Später hatten wir dann einen angenehmen Wind von der Seite und wurden heute mit einer wunderschönen Fahrt parallel zur Skyline von Barcelona belohnt. Kurz hinter Barcelona haben wir unseren Zielhafen in El Masnou erreicht.

Fotos © Michele Di Fede

Update: Tag 18 – Sonntag, 13.09.2020

Heute schauen wir mal, was das Wetter für uns parat hält. Für den Morgen ist kein Wind vorhergesagt, im Verlaufe des Tages soll er aufkommen. Wie auch immer der Wind sich entscheidet, wir werden das Beste daraus machen und haben stets unser Ziel vor Augen! Mit der richtigen Einstellung ist alles möglich. Einen schönen Sonntag euch allen.

Fotos © Michele Di Fede

Update: Tag 17 – Samstag, 12.09.2020

Tag 17 auf dem Wasser und die Vorhersage für heute war eher nüchtern: am Morgen gar kein Wind, am Mittag ein wenig. Wir entschieden uns, unser Glück zu versuchen und die Segel trotzdem zu setzen, um uns um die Ecke von Barcelona zu kämpfen. Und wir wurden belohnt! Der Wind war endlich mal konstant – nicht zu stark, nicht zu schwach – und dann noch von der richtigen Seite. Gute 100 km haben wir zurückgelegt und unser Tagesziel in Ametlla de Mar erreicht. Ein paar mehr solche Tage wären der Wahnsinn!

Fotos © Michele Di Fede

Update: Tag 16 – Freitag, 11.09.2020

Die Windvorhersage von gestern hat sich leider nicht erfüllt: Heute Morgen herrschte totale Windstille, dann kam ein wenig Wind auf, sodass wir einfach so weit gefahren sind, wie es eben ging. Kurz vor dem Tagesziel hat uns der Wind dann wieder im Stich gelassen und wir mussten uns in den Hafen abschleppen lassen. Zudem leidet Lars seit gestern unter einer leichten Sonnenallergie, die hoffentlich schnell wieder abklingt.

Update: Tag 15 – Donnerstag, 10.09.2020

Vergangene Nacht wurde unser Campingplatz das erste Mal so richtig verregnet. Selbst unsere Kameramänner, die normalerweise im Freien übernachten, mussten im Dunkeln doch noch ihre Zelte aufbauen. Auch ist es am Vormittag jeweils nicht mehr so heiss, was zur Folge hat, dass wir vor dem Start einer neuen Etappe in unsere noch nassen Neoprenanzüge schlüpfen müssen. Aber auch davon lassen wir uns nicht unterkriegen und die Laune nicht vermiesen. Wenn der Wind heute so kommt, wie vorhergesagt, sollten wir gut vorwärtskommen und ordentlich Kilometer zurücklegen können. Es bleibt spannend.

Foto © Michele Di Fede

Update: Tag 14 – Mittwoch, 09.09.2020

Für den heutigen Tag hatten wir uns definitiv viel vorgenommen, denn die Vorhersage für den Wind war super. Aber leider kam es total anders, denn die Vorhersage hatte völlig versagt. Anfangs hatten wir leichten Wind von hinten und kamen einigermassen vorwärts, doch kurz darauf drehte der Wind, sodass wir drei bis vier Stunden gegen den Wind kreuzen mussten. In der Bucht von Valencia ging es ein wenig besser, doch dann kam auf Höhe Valencia eine Unwetterfront auf uns zu. Wir entschieden uns, im nächsten Hafen Schutz zu suchen. Glücklicherweise verzog sich die Unwetterfront dann doch noch und wir konnten noch einige Meilen zurücklegen. An unserem Zielhafen Pobla Marina wurde es nochmals knapp, als abermals ein Gewitter auf uns zuzog. 

Fotos © Michele Di Fede

Update: Tag 13 – Dienstag, 08.09.2020

Was für ein turbulenter Tag! Heute hatten wir unbeschreiblich schwierige Windverhältnisse und starteten bei sehr böigem Wind von vorne. Danach drehte der Wind leicht, war jedoch noch immer fordernd. Bei einer Windstärke von 2 Beaufort (Bft) kamen schlagartig Böen mit einer Stärke von 7 Bft auf. Kurz vor Javea türmte sich eine schwarze Regenfront vor uns auf und zwang uns zur Flucht in eine kleine Taucherbucht an der Felsküste. Dort harrten wir rund eine Stunde im strömenden Regen aus. Die Bedingungen liessen nur noch das Abschleppen bis in den Hafen von Javea zu, während die Kälte uns fest im Griff hatte. Nachdem wir uns am Hafen einigermassen aufgewärmt und unseren inneren Schweinehund ein weiteres Mal überwunden hatten, sind wir wieder ausgelaufen. Nach einigen Kilometern bei schwerem Wellengang kam endlich gemütlicher Wind von der Seite auf, sodass wir mit Fullspeed bis Oliva durchziehen konnten. 

Fotos © Michele Di Fede

Update: Tag 12 – Montag, 07.09.2020

Heute herrschte leider totale Flaute, weshalb wir uns notgedrungen fürs Abschleppen durch unsere Bootscrew entscheiden mussten, bevor der Starkwind aufziehen sollte. Kurz vor den ersten starken Böen schafften wir es in den Hafen von Altea, wo uns der Regattaclub sehr freundlich empfangen hat. Insgesamt sind wir bis dato in jedem Hafen auf unglaublich nettes Personal getroffen und wir erhalten sehr viel Zuspruch für unser Vorhaben.

Fotos © Michele Di Fede

Update: Tag 11 – Sonntag, 06.09.2020

Der Wind liess heute Morgen lang auf sich warten, daher begann Tag 11 der Challenge relativ spät, erst gegen 10 Uhr ging es aufs Wasser. Trotz weiter anhaltendem Wind von vorn kamen wir mit nur drei Wenden gut voran. In der Bucht von Alicante drehte dann endlich der Wind und wir konnten abermals eine sehr gute Distanz zurücklegen, ohne viele Wendemanöver durchführen zu müssen. Dies hiess allerdings auch gut 7 Stunden auf derselben Pobacke sitzen. Kurz hinter Alicante wurde für heute das Lager aufgeschlagen und die Stimmung im Team ist weiterhin gut: Jeder hat seine Position gefunden, jeder weiss, was er zu tun hat, und trotz sehr anstrengenden Tagen kommt der Spass und die Freude nie zu kurz, wie die täglichen Video-Updates auf Instagram zeigen. 

Fotos © Michele Di Fede

Update: Tag 10 – Samstag, 05.09.2020

Der Morgen begann für unsere beiden Segler sehr intensiv, als wir bei Cartagena eine besonders heikle Ecke umsegeln und dabei gegen harten Gegenwind und starken Wellengang kämpfen mussten. Sobald die Stelle hinter uns lag, konnten wir jedoch mit einem Schlag 25 km zurücklegen und den Tag somit mit der bisher grössten zurückgelegten Distanz abschliessen. Alles in allem ein sehr erfolgreicher Tag, mit dem wir sehr zufrieden sein können. 

Fotos © Michele Di Fede

Update: Tag 9 – Freitag, 04.09.2020

Am neunten Tag mussten wir einen willkommenen Ruhetag einlegen, da der Wind von vorne einfach zu stark war. Einerseits schade, andererseits auch gut, dass wir heute Zeit hatten, unsere «Wunden zu lecken» und uns etwas zu erholen. Bei den heutigen Bedingungen hätten wir maximal 30 km zurücklegen können und diese Bedingungen wären schlichtweg zu gefährlich gewesen. Wir hoffen nun, morgen um das nächste Eck zu kommen, um anschliessend Richtung Norden segeln zu können und mit etwas Glück keinen Wind mehr von vorn zu haben.

Fotos © Michele Di Fede

Update: Tag 8 – Donnerstag, 03.09.2020

Trotz noch immer anhaltendem Gegenwind kam unser Team rund um die GP Challenge 2020 heute gut vorwärts. Auf dem letzten Stück der Tagesetappe wurde der Wind jedoch so stark, dass wir einen Hafen früher anlegen mussten als geplant.

Fotos © Michele Di Fede

Update: Tag 7 - Mittwoch, 02.09.2020

An Tag 7 der Challenge waren Wind und Wetter ein wenig versöhnlicher gestimmt. Trotz erneuter Windlage von vorne, kam unsere Crew gut voran und konnte ihr Tagesziel erreichen. Belohnt wurden sie zumindest mit dem Blick auf eine wunderschöne Stein- und Steilküste während des heutigen Segeltörns. Die Landcrew kümmert sich nun in Garrucha wie immer bestens um unsere Wassercrew und die Stimmung im ganzen Team ist weiterhin sehr gut und motiviert. Ganz nach dem Motto «Know You Can» gab Rüdiger heute zu Protokoll: «Wir kämpfen weiter!» Und die AXA drückt dabei die Daumen. 

Fotos © Michele Di Fede

Update: Tag 6 - Dienstag, 01.09.2020

Der Wind ist unserem Team momentan nicht allzu gut gesonnen. Nach einem schnellen und hoffnungsvollen Start direkt vom Strand des Nachtlagers aus, schlief der Wind abermals ein und der Katamaran kam heute kaum vorwärts. In der Mitte der Bucht vor Almería herrschte dann kompletter Stillstand und der Wind liess auf sich warten. Kurz vor der Dämmerung mussten die beiden dann vom Beiboot abgeschleppt und an Land gezogen werden, um eine gefährliche Fahrt bei Nacht zu verhindern. Für morgen hoffen wir nun alle auf mehr Wind, sobald es Richtung Nord-Ost geht.

Fotos © Michele Di Fede

Update: Tag 5 - Montag, 31.08.2020

Zu Beginn der neuen Woche kam unsere Crew recht gut aus Calahonda weg. Im Verlaufe des Morgens blockierte sie dann jedoch eine knapp 3-stündige Flaute. Am Nachmittag frischte der Wind dann wieder auf und baute sich bis zur Sturmstärke auf, was Lars und Rüdi zwang auf die letzten 4km der Tagesstrecke zu verzichten, und direkt am Strand «Not zu landen». Zumindest konnte nun der Katamaran direkt auf den Campingplatz gerollt werden, wo die Landcrew unsere Helden mit kiloweise frischen Gambas und Kartoffelsalat verwöhnte.

Fotos © Michele Di Fede

Update: Tag 4 – Sonntag, 30.08.2020

An Tag 4 mussten Rüdiger Böhm und Lars Kyprian fast die gesamte Tagesstrecke auf der Kreuz, sprich gegen den Wind, segeln. Rund 70 km legten sie dabei aus dem Trapez zurück.  Nach insgesamt über 100 km haben sie ihr Lager heute in Calahonda aufgeschlagen. 

Fotos © Michele Di Fede

Update: Tag 3 – Samstag, 29.08.2020

Was für ein Tag! Heute sind unsere Abenteurer regelrecht über die Bucht von Torre Del Mar geflogen. Trotz Starkwindwarnung hatten sie die Bucht in nur 2 Stunden und 50 Minuten überquert. Somit blieb am heutigen Abend endlich auch mal Zeit für einen erfrischenden Sprung in den Pool. 

Fotos © Michele Di Fede

Update: Tag 2 – Freitag, 28.08.2020

Auch am zweiten Tag sah sich unsere Crew mit extremen Windschwankungen konfrontiert. Bei Windstärken von 7 Beaufort waren sie auf dem kleinen Sportkatamaran Wellen von bis zu drei Metern ausgesetzt! Das Handy des Fotografen hat dies nicht überlebt und die beiden Kameramänner wurden so seekrank, dass sie die Fische gefüttert haben.

Und urplötzlich dann wieder zwei Stunden Totalflaute. Todmüde und geschafft wurde das Lager abermals erst am späten Abend bezogen.

Fotos © Michele Di Fede

Update: Tag 1 – Donnerstag, 27.08.2020

Unsere beiden Segler Lars und Rüdiger starteten die GP Challenge 2020 mit einem fulminanten ersten Tag, waren jedoch auch mit sehr grossen Problemen konfrontiert. Kaum auf dem Meer, riss der Grosschotblock (dieser dient der Bedienung des Grossegels) bei extremen Windverhältnissen von 6-7 Beaufort (bis zu 61km/h) und musste notdürftig repariert werden.

Anschliessend liess der Wind immer mehr nach, bis dann am Nachmittag komplette Flaute herrschte. Erst am späten Abend gegen 22:00 Uhr konnte die Crew ihre Zelte kurz vor Estepona aufbauen.

Fotos © Michele Di Fede

Welche Strecke legen sie mit ihrem Katamaran zurück?

Die Strecke von Gibraltar nach Palermo beträgt 2020 Seemeilen.

Hinter den Kulissen

Erfahren Sie, wie Lars Kyprian und Rüdiger Böhm darauf gekommen sind, die GP Challenge 2020 ins Leben zu rufen, und finden spannende Infos rund um die Challenge und die zwei Hauptakteure. 

  • Teaser Image
    Offizielle Seite: GP Challenge 2020 | 2 Männer – 2 Beine

    Auf der von Lars Kyprian und Rüdiger Böhm betriebenen Seite zur GP Challenge 2020 finden Sie noch mehr spannende Infos.

    zur offiziellen Seite der GP Challenge

Wieso unterstützt die AXA die GP Challenge 2020?

Mit der GP Challenge 2020 wollen Lars Kyprian und Rüdiger Böhm «raus aus der Box» und beweisen, dass auch vermeintlich Unmögliches gemeistert werden kann. Weil der AXA diese Werte am Herzen liegen, unterstützt sie das ambitionierte Segelprojekt im Rahmen der Kampagne «Know You Can». Mit dieser Markenkampagne unterstützt die AXA Menschen, die wissen, dass sie alles schaffen können. Der Glaube an sich selbst, Wille und Ausdauer sind die Basis jeden Erfolgs. 

AXA & Sie

Kontakt Schaden melden Stellenangebote Medien Broker myAXA Garagen-Portal Kundenbewertungen Newsletter abonnieren myAXA Kontakt & FAQ

AXA weltweit

AXA weltweit

In Kontakt bleiben

DE FR IT EN Nutzungshinweise Datenschutz / Cookie Policy © {YEAR} AXA Versicherungen AG

Wir verwenden Cookies und Analyse-Tools, um das Nutzungserlebnis für Sie zu verbessern, die Werbung von AXA und ihren Werbepartnerfirmen zu personalisieren sowie Social-Media-Funktionen bereitzustellen. Sie können Ihre Cookie-Einstellungen bei Verwendung von Internet Explorer 11 leider nicht über unser Cookie-Präferenz-Center ändern. Möchten Sie Ihre Einstellungen anpassen, nutzen Sie bitte einen aktuellen Browser. Durch die Nutzung unserer Internetseite mit diesem Browser stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Datenschutz / Cookie Policy